Lake District Towns and Villages
Threlkeld in the Lake District National Park
Threlkeld is a charming village situated 3 miles to the east of Keswick, under the shadow of Blencathra and famous for it's annual sheep dog trials. It can easily be reached from Keswick on foot, by using the disused scenic, railway track, signposted next to the Keswick Country House Hotel on Station road.
The village became a minor boom town at the start of the 20th century when lead and zinc were discovered on Blencathra. A hundred men were employed at Gategill mine and terraces of houses were built to accommodate them. Quarring for granite continued in the area until the 1980's.
Threlkeld has a couple of old pubs, the Horse and Farrier and the Salutation, both of which serve bar meals. The Horse and Farrier is the oldest bearing the inscription CIG1688 over the door, believed to be that of Christopher and Grace Irton, then living at Threlkeld Hall.
There is post office cum shop, village school, mining museum, and a church, St Mary's, dating back to 1777 but restored in 1911.
The mining museum, situated in the old quarry site explains the history of mining in the region and contains a mineral collection as wee as a collection of mining and quarrying memorabilia. There is also a recreated mine that visitors can descend into.
Each year in August, Threlkeld holds sheepdog trials, a popular event that includes foxhound and terrier shows and hound trailing.
Blencathre Field Centre was once a TB isolation hospital but is now a residential centre providing residential and day courses in Biology and geography.
For information on blencathra Field Centre see Blencathra Fied Centre
Blencathra is very popular with fell walkers with more than half a dozen routes to it's summit.